Skip to content

The Sandwich Standard

December 21, 2010

It might seem paradoxical to say that I am, at once, lazy and meticulously thorough. But given that I apply my meticulous thoroughness to even the smallest of tasks, just thinking about doing some things can be exhausting for me. So it’s really no surprise that, quite often, I would rather not do anything at all. (This may or may not be a touch of OCD, but I’m told that if you’re going to have a psychological disorder, that’s a good one to have.) Anyway, it makes me lazy.

So it would be easy to attribute the fact that I make sandwiches almost every day for lunch to my (alleged) laziness. But that couldn’t be further from the truth! I love sandwiches! And I take great care to make them not just filling, but delicious.  I consider myself to be somewhat of a sandwich artist, in fact (no Subway reference intended). But the sandwich has come to be more than just lunch. It’s a textured (preferably), wholesome and satisfying gauge of important things!

To elaborate, I used to think that whatever sandwich I made the kids for lunch was a measure of how hard I was working as a mom that day (for example, Asiago panini on ciabatta=working hard; PB&J on toast=not so hard). But then it occurred to me that it wasn’t a matter of what I was making for them, it was about what I was making for me. They could eat PB&J everyday, and they would be delighted. Coincidentally, it’s the easiest thing I could make them. But that’s not really lazy– it’s a totally legitimate option on a busy day of picky toddler eating. No, what would determine if I was being lazy or not is if I settled for the PB&J as well.

I’m pleased to say that most days I don’t. Partially it’s because I feel sick if all I’ve eaten is peanut butter and jelly (delicious though it may be, and it IS). Mainly it’s because, whether I am conscious of it or not, once I’ve gotten the kids’ food ready, my delicious and carefully crafted sandwich (lightly toasted bread, crunchy lettuce, freshly sliced tomato, special mustard, etc.) is a treat that I am giving myself. I’m taking the time to make something I like, to do it right, and to make sure that, on occasion, what I want matters as much as what the kids want.  Big picture, the priority is always the kids, no question. But small picture? Sometimes that’s the sandwich*.

 

 

*and a side of chips

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

