Skip to content

Home Address

August 9, 2013

I was with my son at the doctor’s the other day when he (my son, not the doctor), at the most inopportune time, needed to go potty. The kind of potty which requires my assistance. So my very kind doctor moved on to his next patient to give us a little bit of time to sort our business out. The bathroom shares a wall with one of the examination rooms, so I could hear people talking (not the words, just a mumbling type of sound). And then, as I was bemoaning the timing and the nature of this bathroom visit, irritated at having to wipe someone’s bottom (a noble and necessary job, but if we’re being honest, it’s not like I love this part), I heard through the wall the very clear and distinct sound of a rapidly beating heart on the Doppler. It hadn’t been that long ago that I, too, was there listening for a heartbeat. And this unexpected and beautiful sound took my breath away for a moment. I couldn’t help but smile while I wiped my son, listening to that precious heart like it was my favorite song that had suddenly come on the radio. It was awesome. It warmed the cockles of my own, often sour-puss heart, and I told everyone that day about the awesome thing I heard while taking my son to the bathroom. I heard a little person.

 

The concept of ‘unborn’ has little to do with whether or not one lives, and everything to do with where one lives. Because when you are unborn, you are not un-alive; your heart beats, you grow, you change, you even go to the bathroom! So what you really are is just limited in where you reside. You must reside, at least for the time being, in a womb. It’s just the right size, just the right temperature, there’s room service, and the landlady is always nearby to address any problems that might come up. For a while, you keep a low profile and go about your business quietly. Over time, you develop a more high-profile lifestyle, more people notice you, and you start to outgrow what was once your perfect and cozy home. Eventually, that home is simply no longer adequate for you, so you move on to something literally bigger and brighter. (So much brighter!) But your first home was perfect. It was the right place for you at the time. And you weren’t any less of a person for residing there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

